I Will Try To Understand

Today and tomorrow are filled with goodbyes. I’m not going home to the states until July 1st and have lots of fun trips planned between now and then, but some of my closest friends are heading out Friday morning as their programs have come to an end. I leave for Barcelona tomorrow afternoon making tomorrow the last time I’ll see them for a while.

I was thinking how strange this whole experience is… I mean we get thrown into a city in a country we’re unfamiliar with, know no one and are forced to make friends with these people who before too long are torn away and placed in their respective states. I know, pooooor me- but actually it’s not all easy!

How are there only two of us left now from “The Madrid Five”

Anyways, I was thinking about this strange phenomenon that is studying abroad and how not ready I am to say goodbye as this song, Either Way, by one of my favorite bands, Wilco, came on my iTunes shuffle. The lyrics are as followed:

Maybe the sun will shine today
The clouds will blow awayMaybe I won’t feel so afraid
I will try to understand
Either way

Maybe you still love me
Maybe you don’t
Either you will or you won’t
Maybe you just need some time alone
I will try to understand
Everything has its plan
Either way
I’m gonna stay
Right for you

Maybe the sun will shine today
The clouds will roll away
Maybe I won’t be so afraid
I will understand everything has its plan
Either way

So nice job iTunes on your song timing. Just what I needed to hear. I realized it’s alright! I’m going to see these people again if I put the effort into it! Life keeps on going and we just need to make the most out of it and work with it. I probably should’ve realized this about 3 months ago, but hey- better late than never, right?

Ashley and Blakely. Thankfully Blakely extended her flight until June 1st.

Later today I took a walk with one of my closest friends here, Kelsey, and we talked about potential times we could meet up. She’s never been to Tennessee, so why not visit me? There are super cheap flights from Knoxville to Denver, so I can go there during my spring break next year. There’s also talk of an ISA Salamanca reunion in New York City for new years 2013.

My friend Kelsey and I dressed up

I can’t wait to see what the future holds for my relationships with these people. It’s sad saying goodbye, but as Wilco says “I will try to understand everything has its plan”. Hopefully the plan is for lots of visits from friends.

The sassiest of friends, Mark.

I am so lucky to have met you all and know that if you’re ever in Knoxville you have a place to stay with me! Good luck to all of you in your future adventures and remember, it’s not “adios” it’s “hasta luego”.

What will my nights out be like without Kelsey and Somer?

Wilco’s song, Either Way, posted in a youtube below. Have yourself a listen, you won’t be disappointed.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=otz5V3RnG1Q

About ladler91

I'm a third year student at the University of Tennessee in Knoxville studying Spanish and Elementary Education. I love live music and being around my friends and family. I'm spending my spring semester studying in Salamanca, Spain. This blog is to help keep friends and family (especially those without facebook) updated on my life while abroad!
This entry was posted in The Best of Times, Tips For Study Aborad and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I Will Try To Understand

  1. Zac Macinnes ISA says:

    Great blog! I still keep in touch with many of the people I studied abroad with back in 2008. I hope you do too!

Leave a comment