Why Choose ISA?

If any of you have interest in study abroad I can tell you one thing– start planning early!! There are so many different ways to go about it and it’s less scary if you start at least a full semester before you go abroad to start looking into programs.

I chose a third party program called International Studies Abroad, or ISA for short, because my study abroad coordinator at Tennessee told me it’s a great program and not too expensive in the grand scheme of things. ISA has lots of different programs; intensive one month language courses, a full year abroad, semester abroad and even more programs within the programs. It’s confusing but once you start looking into it it gets easier, I promise!

So why choose ISA to travel abroad with? Here’s some reasons why I think I have the best third party program:

  • The best directors around. Bea, Carmen, Sofía, Rodrigo, Roberto and María- you are all awesome!! You’ve helped me with my Spanish and turned out be great friends. I’ve got 24 hour emergency numbers for all of them and know they’re here for anything I need.
  • Excursions. I’ve traveled to Madrid, Toledo, El Escorial, Segovia, Sevilla, Granada and Lisbon, Portugal for ISA and it’s all included in my program! We stay at amazing hotels (I’m talking slippers in the closet and delicious buffet breakfasts) and go on guided tours of all the important places. The only thing we have to pay for once on our trips are lunches and dinner plus any spending money. I also went to Morocco with ISA, this was a trip you had to pay extra for but it was so nice going and not having to plan a thing!
  • Coordinators in the USA. I’m pretty sure I had Lindsey Wineholt on my speed dial the two months before I came to Spain and I’ve never even met her. The two Salamanca coordinators in Austin, Texas were so very helpful!
  • Visas. If you’re studying abroad longer than 3 months in Spain you’re required to get a student visa. The Spain consulate that I was zoned for was in Houston, Texas. Mind you I live in Knoxville, Tennessee– not exactly close. ISA gave us the option of paying $100 and they would get it done for us. Since a plane ticket would already be well over $100 for me and I would’ve had to miss school of course I took up their offer! What a deal, and so much less of a hassle for me.
  • Getting immersed in the culture. All programs are different, I had a friend studying through his home university in France and the point of him studying abroad was to have “a gateway to Europe”. He traveled all over, but didn’t learn the language and had his classes in English. I think one of ISA’s goals is to completely show you the culture of your host country is like. If you live in a homestay it’s 90% sure that your host family won’t speak any English, your classes will be in the language of the host country (if you choose this), ISA offers tours around your city and we even got a free cooking class to learn how to make traditional Spanish foods like paella, gazpacho and tortilla española.
  • The office. ISA has a centrally located office in Salamanca (two, actually!) that’s open from 10 AM – 8 PM Monday – Thursday and 10 AM- 6 PM on Friday. In the office you can chat with the directors, enjoy the free wifi or have a place to study.
  • Activities!! ISA is constantly keeping us busy with optional activities. Ever Friday we alternate between playing fútbol (soccer) and beach volleyball as a group. They’ve bought us tickets to go to the movies, we get free tickets to local museums for whenever we’d like to go, we had a cooking class and sometimes ISA shows a movie in the office and provides popcorn and peanut butter. Yum! Every week we’re also e-mailed a “cultural agenda” with things going on in Salamanca. Every ISA student also has the opportunity to volunteer in Salamanca. I teach English every Wednesday for two hours at a local elementary school, something that ISA coordinated for me. Teaching English is the most common volunteer activity, but you can also work with groups like the Red Cross or work with the elderly!

As you can see, I think ISA is the clear study abroad program! I’ve had a blast getting to know the directors and can thank them for my involvement in Salamanca. I think I’ve definitely gotten my moneys worth with this program and would recommend it to anyone thinking of studying abroad. Also, they’ve got programs all over the world, not just Spain! If you’ve got any questions about ISA or Salamanca please feel free to shoot me an e-mail at ladler@utk.edu. Here’s the link to ISA’s webpage where you can find different countries to study in and a program that’s just right for you! http://www.studiesabroad.com/

About ladler91

I'm a third year student at the University of Tennessee in Knoxville studying Spanish and Elementary Education. I love live music and being around my friends and family. I'm spending my spring semester studying in Salamanca, Spain. This blog is to help keep friends and family (especially those without facebook) updated on my life while abroad!
This entry was posted in Tips For Study Aborad and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Why Choose ISA?

  1. Aww thank you, Lily! I absolutely adore our RDs in Salamanca – Carmen is amazing. Do you mind if I share this post with Lindsey here in Austin? It will make her day. I hope you enjoy the rest of your time in España 😉

Leave a comment